There are still UK universities that have failed to adopt the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance ’s (IHRA) working definition of anti-Semitism, despite the UK government issuing a warning that universities faced funding cuts if they failed to do so.

See list of universities below

In England, 30% of universities haven’t signed up to the IHRA definition. In Scotland the figure is 80% of universities and 89% of universities in Wales are yet to adopt the definition.  

The UK government formally adopted the definition in 2016, however anti-Semitism is still allowed in British universities under the guise of Israel Apartheid Week.

The failure of some universities to adopt the IHRA definition allows anti-Semitism to operate in plain sight, and this is illustrated each year by the hosting of Israel Apartheid Week (IAW) events on taxpayer funded campuses. The title for these events is designed to compare Israel to apartheid in South Africa, which is an outrageous and misleading claim intended to demonise and delegitimise Israel.

We’ve teamed up with our Israel Britain Alliance partners in providing recommended wording to help you contact your ministerial department (with a copy to your MP). 

As education is a devolved matter, we have provided separate letters for EnglandWalesScotland and Northern Ireland so that CUFI supporters can email their relevant ministerial department about the matter. Please select the nation of the United Kingdom where you live and enter your details (Do not use auto-fill when completing). Edit the letter if you wish. Then hit send. It only takes a few moments.

The following universities have not yet adopted the IHRA definition of antisemitism.
(Correct to the best of our knowledge at time of publication)


AECC University College
University of Brighton
University of Buckingham
University for the Creative Arts
University of Cumbria
Falmouth University
University of Greenwich
Kingston University London
Courtauld Institute of Art
Goldsmiths, University of London
School of Oriental and African Studies
University of Northampton
Oxford Brookes University
Ravensbourne University London
University of Reading


Cardiff University
University of South Wales
Swansea University
Cardiff Metropolitan University
University of Wales Trinity Saint David
Aberystwyth University
Wrexham Glyndŵr University


Edinburgh Napier University
Heriot-Watt University
Queen Margaret University
Robert Gordon University
University of Aberdeen
University of Dundee
University of St Andrews
University of Stirling
University of Strathclyde
University of the Highlands and Islands
University of the West of Scotland

Northern Ireland

Queen’s University
Ulster University

Northern Ireland